Oregon Adopts Continuing Education Requirement for Investment Adviser Representatives

Investment Adviser Representatives registered in Oregon must complete NASAA-approved IAR CE beginning in 2023. Continue reading

Oregon is the most recent state to adopt a rule requiring investment adviser representatives (IARs) to complete annual continuing education in accordance with NASAA’s IAR CE model rule. The new CE requirement went into effect for IARs registered in Oregon on January 1, 2023.

A total of eleven U.S. jurisdictions are implementing the IAR CE requirement in 2023:

    • Arkansas
    • Kentucky
    • Maryland
    • Michigan
    • Mississippi
    • Oklahoma
    • Oregon
    • South Carolina
    • Vermont
    • Washington, D.C.
    • Wisconsin

What is the NASAA IAR CE Requirement?

According to the NASAA model rule, IARs registered in participating jurisdictions must complete 12 credits of CE each year. The requirement applies to both state-registered and federal-registered investment advisers. Six of the 12 credits must be in the Products and Practices category. The other six credits must be in the Ethics and Professional Responsibility category, and at least three of these must be Ethics.

NASAA allows IARs to choose courses they’re interested in, but the courses and course provider must be approved by NASAA. Solomon Exam Prep has been a NASAA-approved CE provider since 2022, and all courses in the Solomon IAR CE course library offer credit towards the CE requirement. Explore Solomon’s IAR CE courses.

For more information about IAR CE, visit the Solomon IAR CE FAQs or NASAA’s IAR CE FAQs.

Disclaimer: NASAA does not endorse any particular provider of CE courses. The content of the course and any views expressed are our own and do not necessarily reflect the views of NASAA or any of its member jurisdictions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.